CnLsnapping

Day 177: English Muffin Edibility

2 Comments

What else can I say.

IMG_20130208_160243.5

I’ve been craving English muffins for 177 days and finally got around to making them. The recipe has been bookmarked on my computer for many of those days, so I’m not sure why it took me so long. Anyway, Casey is at work today and requested that I make them so, of course, I had to. Anything for that boy.

IMG_20130208_114243IMG_20130208_120012

I had purchased English muffin rings while we were in the states in November, so I guess that shows [partly] how long they were on my mind. The recipe was easy enough. Make the batter, let it sit, preheat some pans (I don’t have a nice griddle to work with, so these pans had to do), and cook away. The muffins puffed up MUCH bigger than I expected, which was fun to watch yet kind of startling since they turned into monstrous, puffy cakes of dough. Hmm. I was skeptical.

IMG_20130208_123210

As you can tell, the first ones were way too dark but steadily got better. I ended up making eight muffins with the batter. Next time, I plan to make at least ten normal-sized muffins. At Casey’s request, via text message, I sampled the smallest one to ensure their edibility. (I didn’t even know “edibility” was a word until now. That’s cool! I’m going to change the blog post title.) So where was I… yes, just look at those nooks and crannies! Amazing! They certainly don’t look like store-bought muffins from the outside, but I bet the inside could have fooled you.

IMG_20130208_160259

After a quick stint in the toaster, the muffins got slathered in some peanut butter. I must say, I was impressed! They were very soft and reminded me more of crumpets than English muffins. Maybe a longer stay in the toaster would make them crispier and more English muffin-esque. Overall though, they were a success! Happy Lea. I can’t wait until Casey comes home so he can try one. Or two. Or three. All in good time.

IMG_20130208_160409

My sister requested that I share these “Recipes from the Heart of Darkness” with the rest of the world so, after much deliberation, I think I’m going to start a REAL food blog! I’ve been going back and forth with the idea for quite some time (years) but, really, I might as well do it now since I have so much time and, obviously, THIS blog is quickly turning into a food blog. Although, now I’m wondering what will happen to this blog… I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Hopefully I can balance the blogs with CnL updates on one and recipes on the other. I can’t promise when the food blog will make its debut, so please just be patient. I’ll keep you informed.

Author: CnLsnapping

Casey is an airline pilot and professional photographer. Leanna is also a photographer and an aspiring writer/journalist.

2 thoughts on “Day 177: English Muffin Edibility

  1. I don’t know about you, but it looks like a muffin.. HOW do you make a muffin??? Hmmmmm.. Well, food blog would be nice. can you resend the salmon cake recipe? or was it Shannon who has it??

    Like

  2. I’m excited for your other blog! And these look good!

    Like

Shoot Us a Comment

