CnLsnapping

Day 95: Happy Early Birthday, Casey!!

3 Comments

DSCF1169

Casey’s birthday isn’t until Tuesday, the 20th, but I made him a cake early so we could enjoy it before we leave! (What? Leave, you ask?) Yes! We are planning a trip home!

Everything happened suddenly, as usual, but we are indeed planning on leaving tomorrow evening for the good ole US of A.  I need to clean and pack, but I just had to do a blog post so you weren’t left hanging like last time!

Since we’ll be having pumpkin pies this week for Thanksgiving, I wanted to make Casey a cake for his special day! This particular recipe is a family favorite: Nana’s Butter Cake. Mmm… it’s buttery, moist, and oh so delicious. Casey wasn’t expecting it, so he was quite surprised when he came home from work. Yay! I do love a good surprise. We had his favorite Lemon Chicken for dinner, and I must say that we make a mean sauce. Much better than any restaurant we’ve been to.

IMG_20121115_185613

We finished up with a nice, big slice of sweet cake! I was so happy with the way it turned out. I get very attached to my baked goods, so if they are any less than perfect, I’ll take it personally. Fortunately, this dessert did not disappoint. It usually makes a three-layer cake, but I decided to make a two-layer cake and a dozen cupcakes. Casey had used the “2” candle for my birthday cake, so I cut the “8” candle into a makeshift two. It worked out fine. What else can I say? I think the cake and the birthday boy speak for themselves.

DSCF1181DSCF1190

I couldn’t find any muffin liners at the stores, so I made my own out of parchment paper. Maybe it’s silly, but I’m quite proud of these, so I wanted to post a picture (pre-frosting).

IMG_20121115_155154

We have eaten half the cake and the other half is in the freezer. (This cake freezes exceptionally well, which is even more awesome for two people.) We gave some of the cupcakes away, and we’ve been eating the rest. Yum!

As for our trip, we are leaving tomorrow and we’ll be back in the middle of December. There are a surplus of pilots right now, so it’s a great time to go on vacation. When we come back, many pilots will have gone home, so Casey will be needed to fly again. We were originally planning on going home for Christmas, but we took a closer look at the pilot situation and realized that now is a better time. I can’t make any promises that I’ll write an entry at home, but I might be able to find the time. Otherwise, I’ll surely write again when we come back.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving to those in the states! To everyone else, enjoy the beginning of this holiday season, wherever you are.

P.S. I just noticed that this is my 27th post, and Casey is turning 27! Our birthday posts are always in sync with something apparently.

Author: CnLsnapping

Casey is an airline pilot and professional photographer. Leanna is also a photographer and an aspiring writer/journalist.

3 thoughts on “Day 95: Happy Early Birthday, Casey!!

  1. A big Happy Birthday to you, Casey Rose. Leanna dear, The cake and Lemon chicken look awesome! And I love your muffin liners! What a nice surprise! 27, yes, synchronicity!!! Happy days always………..Love you two…….Dad……..

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday Casey! I hope you guys have a fun vacation! That cake looks awesome :)

    Like

Shoot Us a Comment

