CnLsnapping

Day 74: Yes, More Food

8 Comments

This travel/photo blog is somehow turning into a food blog! As Casey says, “That’s the only highlight.” He’s right though. Good meals have become more of a luxury now. It’s amazing how something like food is taken for granted in the states, but we can definitely feel a difference being here. What used to be common ingredients are more rare in Nigeria, and a trip to the market is a chore! I used to live just around the corner from a Smith’s in Las Vegas, and I would LOVE to be so close to a grocery store right now! How many days I sat at home (in Vegas) and didn’t want to drive to Smith’s to get a couple things. Right now, I would jump for joy to be able to walk there. Sigh. There are four markets close by to our apartment in Lagos, but none are within solo-walking distance. I say “solo” because the markets are not impossible to reach on foot, but they’re just a little too far for me to go on my own. Casey and I just walked to a market the other day though, so we got some exercise, and then took a taxi back with all of our goods. Anyway, on to the food updates!

You remember the rolls we made from my last blog post? Well, here are the rolls in Casey’s cute take-away container. There is an oven on the plane that the cabin crew use to heat up meals, so we bought these little foil containers so he could take hot meals to work. It’s quite convenient! Happy Casey.

DSCF1136DSCF1145

Last Thursday, I made cookies! I was running low on some ingredients, so I used what I had available and combined a couple tried-and-true recipes to come up with Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies! I rolled them into little balls, covered them with oats and froze them so we could bake as many or as little as we want at a time. It was an interesting recipe, but they turned out quite nicely! They taste “healthy” and hearty too since I used wheat and white flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, and dried cranberries. Casey enjoyed them a lot and says to remember the recipe!

IMG_20121025_141933IMG_20121025_141948IMG_20121028_123109

That same day, I made pizza for dinner with homemade crust! We found Fleischmann’s Pizza Dough Yeast in the US and bought a few packets to try here. It turned out great! The crust was super easy to make, and it was thick, chewy, and had a good flavor. I made some pseudo-pizza sauce with things we had on hand and topped it off with freshly grated mozzarella cheese. It was delicious! This is another meal that we’ll definitely have again. The dough would also make wonderful breadsticks! We’ll try that sometime too.

IMG_20121025_190340IMG_20121025_190354IMG_20121025_192128

Friday is when we walked to the market and did some shopping. We had been running low on ingredients for a couple weeks, so it was a well-needed shopping adventure. We found a program online called Big Oven that helps you keep track of recipes and lets you plan meals for the week or more. (We could easily do this on our own without a program, but Casey likes to use things like this, so I’m giving it a try.) We planned a few meals, made a grocery list (the program helps you do this too), and went to the market! First on our list was Double-Decker Tacos. You make a typical taco with a crunchy shell and wrap it in a flour tortilla with some refried beans in the middle to hold it in place. It’s delicious! The only downside was that we couldn’t find taco sauce, so we had to go without. Casey didn’t mind at all, but I missed the sauce. It was still very tasty though. We have some sauce coming in our vehicle that we shipped, so I look forward to its arrival!

DSCF1147

This morning, Casey cooked breakfast for me! It’s a treat to have him home, and he made some wonderful French Toast! I usually don’t eat big meals for breakfast, but it was a nice change from cereal. He’s a great aspiring chef, so it’s fun to cook with him and see his skills develop. Plus, it’s just fun to cook together.

DSCF1152DSCF1154.5

Well, today is Sunday and Casey is getting ready to go for a run. I have updated you, so now I can move on to other things, like planning our next meals! I feel like all I think about is food lately… That’s not such a bad thing though, I guess. You should have a good meal tonight in honor of us! Don’t take good meals for granted because they’re really a special treat!

Buon appetito!

Author: CnLsnapping

Casey is an airline pilot and professional photographer. Leanna is also a photographer and an aspiring writer/journalist.

8 thoughts on “Day 74: Yes, More Food

  1. Amazing Lea at it again!!! Nana would be proud of your frozen ready to eat cookies! You ought to send an inquirey to the food channel; I’m sure they might be interested in your food blog! Sounds like Mr. Casey is definitely the best fed Pilot around these days! Miss you two, Love, Dad……………..

    Like

  2. Just love your “food blog” Every time when I read your blog i get so hungry!!! :)

    Like

  3. I love your food blog, and we do take things for granted in the US! I love your ambition and Casey seems to always appreciate it! Wow, the pizza looked great!

    Like

    • I’m glad you like the food blog! It turned into one without me trying. I love reading food blogs, so I guess it’s not entirely strange that I’m writing one myself haha. Yes, Casey is always supportive and enjoys all the meals I’ve been making. He’s a good food critic!

      Like

    • Haha thanks!! Also, thank you for the bread recipe links. I’ll let you know when I try them. Am I correct in thinking that the basic bread dough is the same dough to use for the pita bread?? I’m thinking yes, but just want to make sure.

      Like

Shoot Us a Comment

