CnLsnapping

Day 63: Pumpkin Pie?!

6 Comments

In October? In Nigeria?? Made from scratch?! YES!!

IMG_20121015_161803

Casey had been asking for pumpkin pie for a couple weeks, ever since we found Libby’s Pumpkin Puree at Goodies (the good puree without spices). I briefly said no, since there weren’t any ready-made pie crusts available, but then I got to thinking. I’ve always wanted to make my own pie crust, and pie crust ingredients are really very simple, so why not give it a try? I researched some recipes online and found one I liked. Since I don’t have a food processer, I tried looking for pie crusts which call for hand-mixing only. Casey and I went on the search for rolling pins at three different markets and finally found a neat stainless steel one. I’ve only seen wooden rolling pins before, so this was cool. I gathered all of the ingredients together, and proceeded to make my first pie crust from scratch!

The recipe was very easy to follow, and the crust looked beautiful! It was thick, easy to roll out, and puffed up nicely in the oven! I couldn’t find ground cloves anywhere, so I had to do without that, but the filling tasted great just with cinnamon and ginger. (I used the recipe on the back of the Libby’s can.) On top of homemade pie, I made whipped cream by hand too! I’ve never done that before, since I have a wonderful mixer at home (I miss it!). The cream whipped up surprisingly quickly with just a whisk! Casey helped me too, and we had thick, whipped cream in minutes! It was amazing!

To sum it up, the pumpkin pie tasted fabulous. We were very pleased! The only downside was that the crust wasn’t as light and flaky as I would have liked; it was thicker and slightly chewier. Now, for my first pie crust, I’m not too disappointed. I’ll try a different recipe next time. However, the upside to this discovery is that this pie crust would be GREAT for turnovers! Just imagine a dense, buttery crust that doesn’t come apart in your hands. Perfect for filling with gooey apple or cherry goodness. Mmm! The recipe made two pie crusts, so I have an extra in the freezer, which I will use to make those delicious turnovers one day.

So there you have it! Yummy pumpkin pie with plenty of leftovers and a happy boyfriend! I took pictures of his reactions so you could see just how pleased he was as well.

IMG_20121015_150227IMG_20121015_150452IMG_20121015_152227IMG_20121015_203711IMG_20121015_203818IMG_20121015_204011

“Wow! Pumpkin Pie!!!!!”

IMG_20121015_204445

“This looks great. I’m so excited!”

IMG_20121015_204457

“Smile, Casey.”

IMG_20121015_204511

“Mmmmm…………………………………..”

IMG_20121015_204548

Thick, chewy crust + light, fluffy filling + sweet whipped cream!

IMG_20121015_204839

“No, it’s all gone!”

IMG_20121015_205125

“You can finish my piece too.”

“Wow, really?”

(See how you can hold the crust with your hand?)

IMG_20121015_205147

Completely satisfied Smile

IMG_20121015_205608

Author: CnLsnapping

Casey is an airline pilot and professional photographer. Leanna is also a photographer and an aspiring writer/journalist.

6 thoughts on “Day 63: Pumpkin Pie?!

  1. Casey! You’re a very lucky chap. You not only have a Mrs that cooks/bakes what you wish for, but one that produces a yummy result.
    Thumbs up for Leanna!

    Like

  2. Bon appetit, looks fabulous! Casey looks happy too. Leanna, feel free to make homemade pie at our house anytime.

    Like

  3. Great looking pie!! Go you :)

    Like

Shoot Us a Comment

